Enter your keyword

John L. Thomason Award

Excellence in Marketing, Communications & Community Service

John-ThomassonThe John L. Thomason Award is the highest honor presented by CHPRMS. John L. Thomason was a founding member of the Carolinas Healthcare Public Relations & Marketing Society (CHPRMS). He proudly served as the society's president in 1975. In addition to his service to CHPRMS, Mr. Thomason was the director of public relations at Spartanburg Regional Medical Center from 1969-1986.

John Thomason's strong belief in professional excellence never went unnoticed by his family, friends and colleagues. After his death in 1986, his wife created the John Thomason Award of Excellence to honor outstanding marketing and communications professionals who are also leaders in their community.

Nominations for the award are made by CHPRMS members. The submissions are reviewing by a panel of past winners who then select the winner and announce the recipient at the fall conference. Nominations are submitted in writing to the society's president on the official nomination form before each annual fall conference.

Congratulations to the past recipients of the John L. Thomason Award:

2016 - Kati Everett 2000 – Stacey Brown
2015 - No award given 1999 – No award given
2014 - Allison Greene and Peggy Kane 1998 – Judy C. Smith
2013 – Lee Brower 1997 – Renee Romberger
2012 – No award given 1996 – Betty Hinson
2011 – Michele Affronte-McCausland 1995 – Emerson Smith
2010 – Alan Taylor 1994 – Keith Thomason
2009 – Eric Fletcher 1993 – Jo Carol Torrez
2008 – Dan Corrigan (posthumously) 1992 – Phil Whitesell
2007 – Don Dalton 1991 – Linda Staunch
2006 – Andre LaCroix 1990 – Eston Clark
2005 – Clinton Weaver 1989 – Bill Stancil
2004 – Julian Gibbons 1988 – Pat Mebane
2003 – Jamie Adair 1987 – Elliot Taylor
2002 – Joan Carroza 1986 – Nancy Seymour & Marthanna Banks
2001 – No award given

Submit a Nomination Today

Do you know someone who is deserving of the John L. Thomason Award of Excellence?

Selection criteria includes:

Member of CHPRMS organization (may be awarded posthumously)

Proven excellence in the field of healthcare marketing or communications

Demonstrated involvement in professional, civic, community and volunteer organizations